My Journey to Healing Through a VBAC

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Appoiments on top of appointments! March 15, 2010

Filed under: Blog Therapy — Heather @ 2:51 pm

I went to the new OB last Thursday. I really like these OBs, very nice, into letting the body do what it does and all that. However, because I am diabetic they have strict guidelines for me! I found out at this appointment that I need to have two NST (Non-stress tests) a week. For those of you who don’t know, a NST is when the mother is belted to the monitor in bed and has to push a button for every kick or big movement. I also need to see the OB once a week and have an U/S once a week. So, needless to say, I am going to be a busy Momma till this kid comes!

I will be driving about 40 minutes one way twice a week for these tests until this baby comes!

I had an U/S done on Thursday also and found out that this baby is HUGE! He is weighing in at 6lbs. 2oz.  That’s over the 100th percentile! Let us hope that I go into labor at 36 weeks! I’m not sure I can birth an 11 pound baby! With these new OBs they won’t let me even try to birth a baby that big, so here’s hoping for 36 weeks! So, the restrictions that the Drs have put on me birthing via VBAC are as follows:

1. That my blood sugar and all other tests are practically perfect.

2. The baby can’t exceed 9lbs 6oz. on the U/S.

3. I have to go into labor before 39 weeks, or if at 39 weeks I have a favorable cervix they will use small amounts of pitocin to help me along.

So if those things work out this baby will come VBAC! Here’s hoping that all works out! I will keep this pretty updated as I find things out. I will be hoping for labor between 36-38 weeks. That’s as early as three weeks away! I have been doing some baby spinning yoga and the like to make sure this kid isn’t face up like Fiona(which led to the c-section, among other things). Here’s a website written by a Midwife. Very Interesting!

http://spinningbabies.com/

Right now I am just trying to be good with my diet,  stretch a lot, a little mild yoga, some birthing ball exercising… nothing too crazy.  Hopefully I will be having a baby in a month or so!

 

One Response to “Appoiments on top of appointments!”

  1. Kelly Says:

    I just found your blog through a mutual friend, Joy Howse– I am anxious to hear how your birth went! It’s crazy how hard moms have to fight just to VBAC! I had my VBAC last December, here are some pics: http://chun-beeks.blogspot.com/2009/12/happy-birthday-john-carl-fischer.html
    Big Hugs, and enjoy your new baby!!
    -Kelly


Leave a Reply

