My Journey to Healing Through a VBAC

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Doors are slamming left and right… February 20, 2010

Filed under: Blog Therapy — Heather @ 1:02 pm

I spent all day yesterday trying to find a midwifery practice that would take me as a patient. I, so far, have had no success. It was a very discouraging day for me. I thought I had found the way to go. I guess I will just have to go with the ob/gyns that I’ve been seeing.

A homebirth is totally out of the question in my mind. The risks are far too great for me. I am diabetic, attempting a VBAC, and the only hospital nearby is Bon Secours.  Now, I am not saying anything negative about Bon Secours. However, they do have a VBAC ban. The only way I would deliver there is if, when the time comes, I don’t think I can hold the baby in to make it to Middletown.

I am, surprisingly enough, not too disappointed about the midwifery thing. Now, when I go in for my ob/gyn appt on Tuesday armed with my birth plan and I’m shot down. Then I may  be disappointed. As much as I think these Doctors are “yessing” me, the tables can turn, because I can “yes” them the same way. They cannot force me to do anything. That being said, I have no intention of harming myself or my baby! If there is medical cause for a c-section, so be it. I just want the opportunity to have a God led birth.

I have to say that I am not too thrilled with the Doctors trying to move my due date. In doing so, they are limiting my options. By giving me a due date 9 days sooner, if I go to my original due date of May 1st, to them I will be 9 days overdue! Doctors want to induce, or section diabetic women by 39 weeks at the latest. So, it will be a really big deal if I go to my original due date.

*sigh*

What will be, will be. This pregnancy and birth are in God’s hands. I would appreciate it if you people reading this would please keep praying for the most favorable outcome. I would really love to feel the accomplishment of a vaginal birth.

 

2 Responses to “Doors are slamming left and right…”

  1. Dana Says:

    what happened to the mid-wife/place that you liked in the last post? Hopefully this will all play out just the way u would like it to. stay positive, and yoga is great for pregnancy and walking! lots of walking will keep the baby moving into the position he/she should be in (per my mom). Good luck hun!!

  2. Jennifer B Says:

    Hey, what doctor(s) are you seeing? And I was just thinking…….If you’re induced a week early or more, it may make a VBAC more favorable in the doctors eyes. The baby will be that much smaller, even though it won’t be much. I’m not a fan of inductions, but it could work in your favor for the VBAC…just a thought. Hang in there and don’t let all of this stress you out. Try to enjoy the rest of the ride


Leave a Reply

